top of page
  • Writer's pictureJessica Chappell

Pottery Painting, Memory Making

2019 is wedding year for my sweetheart and I! Throughout my man's deployment, I stayed busy wedding planning a summer Tennessee wedding from San Diego and it has been SO much fun. One thing my family decided to do, when we were all together over the holidays, was come together to give me a sentimental wedding gift. I moved into my very first apartment in 2014, so I've pretty much collected everything I need throughout the years, however, my family still wanted to give us something that we'd use- that was NOT a gift card. So we came up with the brilliant idea of painting pottery together, a set of dishes for our first home together. The ages in our group ranged from 2 to 82 and it truly was fun for all, making messes and making memories.


Sweet little hands painting a piece for Auntie

Before my family arrived, I gathered the dishes I knew I wanted to use. We had a group of twelve people so I decided on a set for four- four dinner plates, four dessert plates, and four salad bowls. After deciding on dishes, next was a color pallet for everyone to use. I chose white, a few shades of blue, and black. I also saved a few pictures ahead of time for the group to use as inspiration (plaid, polka-dot, stripe, etc.).


We spent about 2 hours painting (and snacking on popcorn in between coats). Each person signed or initialed the bottom, which is so fun to see each time I use them. I love that these pieces can be displayed in a China cabinet or used for a nightly meal and will always remind me of that night and the ones who painted them. I think this activity would be perfect idea for a house warming gift, going away present, birthday, or even a date!


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page