top of page
  • Writer's pictureJessica Chappell

Sweet Home San Diego

I always thought people were adventurous (yet a little crazy and maybe even dramatic) when I'd watch the single girl in a movie, leave her comfortable home for a "glamorous" NYC apartment that was smaller than a suburban home coat closet, all in pursuit of a dream. Where did she keep her coats since her bed was in it's place? In NYC I imagine you need coats- plural. I mean it snows.. and you have to walk everywhere. A mind-blowing concept to me, to give up a comfortable and spacious life.. until it became my reality.


In the summer of 2017, after much prayer and counsel, I decided to make the cross-country move, in pursuit of a dream (or should I say, a dreamy military man). My mom and I set out to make this 3 day road-trip in my car, with my dad to follow two days later in a truck. We carefully planned our route, our playlist, and our snacks to take us from the South to Southern California. Our first stop was Waco, TX and our last stop was my new home. "Granny Flat" it was advertised. According to the US dictionary, a granny-flat is defined as "a part of a house made into self-contained accommodations suitable for an elderly relative." Well, these homeowners must not like their elderly relatives very much because, much to my surprise, this space was less than 200 square feet. I discovered it's true size after we arrived in sunny San Diego (with 1 car and 1 u-haul truck on it's way, FULL of stuff). Things like a bed, a couch, a TV, clothes, kitchen supplies, a dining table & chairs, a dresser, and a winged back chair were all ambitious dreams for this tiny space. When my mom and I opened the door, I could not hide my emotions- shock, fear, possibly regret. Was I laughing or was I crying? I couldn't tell. I did what any true Southern girl does in a "crisis".. went in pursuit of fried chicken (true comfort food), which is nearly impossibly to find in this So Cal city, so Chick-Fil-A it was! After we ordered and sat down (in a booth larger than my bathroom) I CRIED. I'm pretty sure words like, "why is this happening" and "what did I do" came out of my mouth. My angel of a mother (probably trying to keep from laughing) reasoned with me, and we came up with a plan. "An adventure" we called it, and then drove to the next place that felt like home- Target. We left with cleaning supplies (again, they must not like their relatives because this place was DIRTY), storage solutions, and a little bit hope.


My sweet and selfless dad was a day away with the full u-haul and I could not, would not let him pull up in that steep gravel driveway without a plan. We decided I didn't need the couch- I'd sell it. I didn't need the TV stand- I'd store it. I'd only hang what clothes I truly needed, donate or store the others. No closet? No problem, two clothing racks and a curtain would do. Any extra wall space we had, we hung floating shelves for baskets. It started to feel like the miracle in the Bible with the lady who had a jar of flour that never ran out. We kept coming up with ways to store the necessities and somehow it all fit or I decided I could do without.


Side note: I knew this was a trivial problem to have. I knew many people around me didn't even have a home. I was thankful to have a home, in San Diego, near my sweetheart; but boy was I scared. Moving 2,000 miles away from family and home + having to lose more of my "stuff" made it feel like losing more of where I came from.


After saying a tough "goodbye" to my parents, God continued to protect and provide for me. He provided buyers for the unneeded furniture- which paid bills (having two lights really lowers the cost of electricity!) and He allowed that space to feel like home, which might have been the greatest blessing of all. A year later he blessed me more than I could have ever dreamed. He gave me a sense of humor about the whole situation, and allowed me to move to the home I live in now.. which has a kitchen that I can't reach from my bed and closets and doors and room for a couch. It brings me to tears when I think of how He's provided for me and protected me in this life and even more, how He is already preparing a mansion for me in the next. John 14:1-3



"I am not afraid. I was made for this. -JOA








the very best part

Special shout-out to my brother's family of FOUR who managed to pack themselves in there for a visit- with smiles on their faces, my dear friend who tucked her daughter's pack-n-play in between my clothing racks and silently watched TV during nap time, my best friend who didn't stop that small space or it's location from visiting me on spring break, and of course to my parents who sacrificed their time, money & comfort to help me settle in. I know that took as much bravery on your end leaving me there as it did for me to stay. I can never say thank you enough for teaching me to adapt and find the good in every situation.



143 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page