top of page
  • Writer's pictureJessica Chappell

Salsa Sunday

Part of my weekly routine includes walking a block to the grocery store, stocking up on food for the week, then food prepping while fixing supper. The kitchen is my favorite spot to spend time in my house. It truly feels like the heart of the home. It's where I can get creative cooking and baking, make food which fuels for our bodies, and as a result- make my sweetheart very happy.


One of the things I make almost every Sunday is salsa. It's one of my favorite snacks and easy to pour over chicken for tacos. Since I've been living in San Diego, I've had the privilege of meeting friends who grew up near or across the border. They graciously shared this family recipe with me, which I've tweaked a little to my liking.


Ingredients:

4 roma tomatoes, peeled

1/2 a lime, juiced

Small bunch of cilantro

1/4 c roughly chopped purple onion

1 tbsp chicken bouillon (I use Knorr)

1/2 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp salt

1 Jalapeno roughly chopped (optional)


Instructions:

Slice an X in the end of each tomato and boil in a pot of water with a pinch of salt, until the skin starts to peel off.

While the tomatoes are boiling, roughly chop the onion, cilantro, and jalapeno.

Once the tomatoes have started to peel, remove them from the water remove the skins.

Add all the ingredients into a food processor or blender and mix to the consistency that you like. For me, I only blend it for about 2-3 seconds. Sometimes I add a splash of the salt water from the tomatoes to make it more "restaurant style" consistency.

Grab a handful of chips and enjoy!



28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page